jr sr high
menu icon Coshocton County Career Center
Superintendents Message
District Email
Staff Directory
Lunch Menus
Photo Gallery
Russellville High School Graduation, 5/20/17
At 6pm on Saturday evening, May 21, 2017, the 94th Annual Commencement was held in the Jim Young Gymnasium for the Class of 2017, at Russellville Junior/Senior High School, Russellville, Kentucky.  Under the direction of Mr. Brian E. Brown, the Russellville J/S High School Band played the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance” for the processional of Superintendent, Mr. Leon Smith; Board Members, Mr. James C. Milam, Mr. Phillip West, Mrs. Davonna Page, Mrs. Lovis Patterson, and Mr. Joe Sparks; Principal, Mrs. Kim McDaniel; Assistant Principal, Mr. Brandon Blake; Guidance Counselor, Mr. Rex Booth; Teacher, Mrs. Tracy Naylor; Assistant Principal, Mrs. Jennifer Myers; Senior Sponsor and Librarian, Mrs. Lauren Fynboe; and the daughter of Coach Matt Tipton, Ms. Medina Tipton, followed by the Graduates.  After the Presentation of Colors by our JROTC Panther Platoon Color Guard, the Band performed the National Anthem and Principal, Mrs. Kimberly McDaniel, shared her welcoming remarks.  Mrs. Tracy Naylor, who was selected by the Senior Class of 2017, to wear the Commit2Graduate, “We-got-your-back” white robe, shared her personal “list of lasts” memories with these seniors along with a very tender poem by Karen Kingsbury.  The Commencement continued with guest speaker, Retiring Superintendent, Mr. Leon Smith, sharing encouraging thoughts with these students and challenging them to work hard, to make sacrifices, and the exercise the two attributes of attitude and effort to be their best as they begin this next journey’s path.  Life without hope is futile.  He stated his faith in God has carried him through and quoted Jer. 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope”.  Ambassador Presentations were presented by Assistant Principal, Mr. Brandon Blake, along with numerous student recognitions:  the presentation of the deGraffenried Award by Mr. Jimmy Davenport to Mr. Micah Naylor, the presentation of the second annual Matt Tipton award by his daughter, Medina Tipton, to Miss Tara Gilbert, and the presentation of Diplomas.  The top three students were 3rd- Mr. Bryan Ison, 2nd- Mr. Micah Naylor, and 1st- Miss Madison Rose.  The Valedictory Speech was presented by Miss Madison Rose. Board Chairman, James C. Milam, shared a few remarks with the Confirmation of Graduates.  Principal, Mrs. Kim McDaniel presented diplomas to the Graduates, including her daughter, Miss Allison McDaniel. Mr. James C. Milam, presented his grandson, Mr. Milam Watkins, and Mr. Phillip West presented his grandson, Mr. Phillip Dru West, their diplomas.  The following received their diplomas:  Montana Marie Armstrong, Breanna Michelle Barnes, Mateah Shantwon Black, Jordan Turner Blick, Latavia Tashay Boyd, DeAndre Cortez “Pedro” Bradshaw, Loreal Cheaney, Blake Lee Clark, Charles Michael Clayton, Jamaris Malik Clayton,Chelsea Ann Clinard, Cierra Collins, Olivia Cudd, Samuel Cundiff, Titiana Tmira Day, Johnny E. Drumgole, Casey Lee Edwards, Haley Geralyn Elliott, Elizabeth Daniele Fisher, Tara Gilbert, Tiffany Michele Gray, James Shelton Greene, Tony Keith Hampton, Dakota Lee Hardin, Caleb Jeremiah Hardison, Addison Dawn Hendley, Jordan Keith Hines, Delcie Houchens, Brennan Hughes, Evan Thomas Humphrey, Jordon Keith Hyams, Bryan Thomas Ison, Carl Manual Jones, Paul Howard Jones, Ladarius Quashon Kees, Madison Leann Keezel, Jackson Kinser, Kody Ray Kirby, Destiny Shanell Leblanc, Lauren Madison Marcum, Deshawn Anthony Mason, Christopher Michael Matthews, Allison Lynn McDaniel, Anddreka Leigh McGuire, Jaylyn McMurray, Macy Lee Meacham, Hunter Moneypenny, Monserrat Morales Solis, Micah Daniel Naylor, Shayla Jordan Oberhausen, Tony Pacheco-Ramirez, Alexis Jenice Perez, Nicholas Ryan Powell, Madison Layne Rose, John Parker Ross, Tristan Shimp, Kaylee Elizabeth Silvey, Daysha Michelle Sitzman, Caitlyn Joanne Smith, Isa Soto Gomez, Britney Lee Starks, Robert Spencer Statton, Megan Nichole Stevenson, Denise Shantel Stovall, Ma’Leigha Chere Nicole Stovall, Alescia Marie Swinson, Dilishia Thomas, Robert Bryson Thomas, Ashlyn Taylor Underwood, Jaime Vargas, James Edwin Waller, Cassidy Leigh Warren, Milam Larance Watkins, Jalonda Wells, Phillip Dru West, Kallie Brooke White, Mark Anthony Wynn, and Ashley Grace Young.  Ma’Leigha Stovall, Kaylee Silvey, Shayla Oberhausen, and Brennan Hughes led the singing of the RJSHS Alma Mater, and the Graduates experienced the traditional tassel moving and Cap Toss. Congratulations to the Class of 2017!
Print This Article
footer logo
About RISD      Calendar      For Parents      For Students      For Teachers      Sports
The Russellville Independent School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, religion, marital status, genetic information, sex, or disability in employment or in the provision of services.

back to top ↑

Russellville Independent Schools
355 S. Summer Street
Russellville, KY 42276

Call 270-726-8406
View text-based website