Russellville Independent Schools News Article

Student Government Association begins at RHS


The experience for Russellville High School Panthers just heightened to a new level with the creation of the long-awaited Student Government Association.  For any school to flourish, it must be receptive to ideas that can develop it into something greater and better.  Freedom of expression maintains a healthy learning environment for kids, but every school doesn’t prioritize this freedom for its students.  Despite this, Russellville High School is proving how much the student voice(s) matters.  Last week, candidates from grades 9-12 campaigned in front of their peers for President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Representative, and Pep Ambassador.  It took a lot of courage from the students who campaigned, and it didn’t go unnoticed! On Friday, Sept. 7, the winners were announced on the plasma screens around the campus.  The SGA positions are as follows:  
Presidents:  Jennifer Wilkerson (9); Makayla Jefferson (10); Noah Brown (11); Jacob Naylor (12) 
Vice-Presidents:  Makiyah Morrow (9); Hannah Alford (10); Marta Hughes (11); Haley Hardesty (12) 
Secretaries:  Jovari Gamble (9); Chloe Shumate (10); Brett Kinser (11); Shawn Steele (12) 
Treasurers:  Jarred Wright (9); Cassidy Farwick (10); Austynn Holdren (11); Ethan Paul (12) 
Representatives:  Jonathan Taylor (9); Jade Morris (10); Cecily Christie (11); Ashley Pitts (12) 

(Article by Matthew Williams) 

Print This Article
© 2019. Russellville Independent Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website